• Burress caught 35 passes for 454 yards and four touchdowns over 10 games for the New York Giants in 2008, his last season before serving a jail term on a weapons charge; St. Louis Rams coach Steve Spagnuolo was the Giants' defensive coordinator that year, giving the NFC West one solid connection to Burress;
  • \n\n
  • Ken Whisenhunt, Russ Grimm and Ray Horton are among the Arizona Cardinals coaches who were with the Pittsburgh Steelers before Burress signed with the Giants in 2005, giving the NFC West another connection;
  • \n\n
  • These types of connections can sometimes explain why teams do not pursue players; they know the bad as well as the good;
  • \n\n
  • My initial feel is that Burress probably will not land in this division; Burress has played his entire career, from high school to the NFL, for teams in the East; I doubt he'll seek out a team in the West after spending two years away from his family;
  • \n\n
  • Burress wore a Philadephia Phillies hat upon his release Monday, and the Eagles were the team considered most likely to sign him in a survey of ESPN.com bloggers;
  • \n\n
  • The Rams' situation at receiver remains unsettled; bringing in Burress for a visit could make sense; the Cardinals' situation at receiver is more defined, and at least one Arizona-based reporter is saying there's no chance the Cardinals will sign him; I tend to agree and do not see the need, either;
  • \n\n
  • Burress is five years older than any receiver on the Rams' roster and nine years older than the team's receivers on average, a potential consideration as the team decides how Burress would fit into the equation;
  • \n\n
  • The Rams have previously resisted adding older receivers, passing on Owens and Moss over the last couple of seasons; Mark Clayton, who turns 29 in July, is the oldest receiver on the roster;
  • \n\n
  • Seattle has been aggressive in considering unlikely options, making low-risk bets on Mike Williams, Reggie Williams, LenDale White and others; the team would ideally like to go with younger players at this stage;
  • \n\n
  • Please let me know if you've seen anything, anywhere, suggesting the San Francisco 49ers would have interest; I do not see a great fit as the team establishes a new program under a first-year coach.
  • \n\n\n
    Would you want Burress on your favorite team?","title" :"Initial thoughts on Burress' availability","byline" :"Mike Sando","linkText" :"Initial thoughts on Burress' availability","description" :"A few thoughts on Plaxico Burress' availability as NFC West teams consider potential options at wide receiver:\n\nBy my count, six current NFL receivers are older than Burress, who turns 34 in August: Terrell Owens (37), Derrick Mason (37), Donald Driver (36), Brian Finneran (35), Hines Ward (35) and Brandon Stokley (35 in June);\nThirty players have caught at least 50 passes in a season at age 34 or older, according to Pro Football Reference; Jerry Rice, Isaac Bruce and Bobby Engram accomplished the feat for current NFC West teams;\nBurress caught 35 passes for 454 yards and four touchdowns over 10 games for the New York Giants in 2008, his last season before serving a jail term on a weapons charge; St.","published" :"2011-06-06T15:11:44Z","tags" :[{"name" :"Seattle Seahawks","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/nflnation/category?name=seattle-seahawks"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=nflnation&category=seattle-seahawks"}},"slug" :"seattle-seahawks","type" :"category"},{"name" :"San Francisco 49ers","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/nflnation/category?name=san-francisco-49ers"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=nflnation&category=san-francisco-49ers"}},"slug" :"san-francisco-49ers","type" :"category"},{"name" :"St. Louis Rams","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/nflnation/category?name=st-louis-rams"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=nflnation&category=st-louis-rams"}},"slug" :"st-louis-rams","type" :"category"},{"name" :"Arizona Cardinals","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/nflnation/category?name=arizona-cardinals"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=nflnation&category=arizona-cardinals"}},"slug" :"arizona-cardinals","type" :"category"},{"name" :"LenDale White","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/nflnation/tag?name=lendale-white"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=nflnation&tag=lendale-white"}},"slug" :"lendale-white","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Brian Finneran","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/nflnation/tag?name=brian-finneran"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=nflnation&tag=brian-finneran"}},"slug" :"brian-finneran","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Isaac Bruce","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/nflnation/tag?name=isaac-bruce"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=nflnation&tag=isaac-bruce"}},"slug" :"isaac-bruce","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Steve Spagnuolo","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/nflnation/tag?name=steve-spagnuolo"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=nflnation&tag=steve-spagnuolo"}},"slug" :"steve-spagnuolo","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Russ Grimm","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/nflnation/tag?name=russ-grimm"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=nflnation&tag=russ-grimm"}},"slug" :"russ-grimm","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Reggie Williams","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/nflnation/tag?name=reggie-williams"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=nflnation&tag=reggie-williams"}},"slug" :"reggie-williams","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Ken Whisenhunt","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/nflnation/tag?name=ken-whisenhunt"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=nflnation&tag=ken-whisenhunt"}},"slug" :"ken-whisenhunt","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Derrick Mason","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/nflnation/tag?name=derrick-mason"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=nflnation&tag=derrick-mason"}},"slug" :"derrick-mason","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Brandon Stokley","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/nflnation/tag?name=brandon-stokley"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=nflnation&tag=brandon-stokley"}},"slug" :"brandon-stokley","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Terrell Owens","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/nflnation/tag?name=terrell-owens"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=nflnation&tag=terrell-owens"}},"slug" :"terrell-owens","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Mark Clayton","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/nflnation/tag?name=mark-clayton"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=nflnation&tag=mark-clayton"}},"slug" :"mark-clayton","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Bobby Engram","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/nflnation/tag?name=bobby-engram"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=nflnation&tag=bobby-engram"}},"slug" :"bobby-engram","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Donald Driver","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/nflnation/tag?name=donald-driver"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=nflnation&tag=donald-driver"}},"slug" :"donald-driver","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Jerry Rice","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/nflnation/tag?name=jerry-rice"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=nflnation&tag=jerry-rice"}},"slug" :"jerry-rice","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Hines Ward","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/nflnation/tag?name=hines-ward"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=nflnation&tag=hines-ward"}},"slug" :"hines-ward","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Mike Williams","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/nflnation/tag?name=mike-williams"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=nflnation&tag=mike-williams"}},"slug" :"mike-williams","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Plaxico Burress","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/nflnation/tag?name=plaxico-burress"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=nflnation&tag=plaxico-burress"}},"slug" :"plaxico-burress","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Ray Horton","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/nflnation/tag?name=ray-horton"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=nflnation&tag=ray-horton"}},"slug" :"ray-horton","type" :"tag"}],"keywords" :["Seattle Seahawks","San Francisco 49ers","St. Louis Rams","Arizona Cardinals","LenDale White","Brian Finneran","Isaac Bruce","Steve Spagnuolo","Russ Grimm","Reggie Williams","Ken Whisenhunt","Derrick Mason","Brandon Stokley","Terrell Owens","Mark Clayton","Bobby Engram","Donald Driver","Jerry Rice","Hines Ward","Mike Williams","Plaxico Burress","Ray Horton"],"lastModified" :"2011-06-06T15:11:44Z","premium" :false,"links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/nflnation/post/_/id/40999/initial-thoughts-on-burress-availability"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpost?blogname=nflnation&id=40999"}},"section" :"NFL Nation","source" :"ESPN.com","images" :[{"height" :300,"alt" :"Plaxico Burress","width" :200,"name" :"Copy of Burress_Plaxico 090214 - Inline [200x300]","caption" :"Plaxico Burress seems unlikely to end up in the NFC West.","type" :"inline","credit" :"Al Bello/Getty Images","url" :"http://a.espncdn.com/photo/2009/0214/nfl_g_burress1_sw_200.jpg"}],"blogname" :"nflnation","sportRoot" :"nfl"}],"sportRoot" :"nfl"} http://espn.go.com/blog/nflnation/post/_/id/40999/initial-thoughts-on-burress-availability Initial thoughts on Burress' availability false false false false-->

    Send this page to a friend

    Initial thoughts on Burress' availability

    Separate multiple addresses with commas

    Register for an account. Forgot your account info?