Adam Schefter reports the Jaguars and Ross have agreed on a three-year deal worth up to $15.3 million.\n
\n
Ross should bring the Jaguars a great deal in play and leadership -- he started in both the Giants’ Super Bowl wins over the Patriots.\n
\n
Corner depth was the Jaguars’ second-biggest need on defense, behind only the sort of special pass-rushing end that many teams are searching for fruitlessly.\n
\n
Jacksonville had previously re-signed Rashean Mathis, a one-time staple. He’s coming off a torn ACL, however, and his deal is an incentive-laden one-year package.\n
\n
The Jaguars now have Ross, Derek Cox, Mathis and nickel corner Drew Coleman.\n
\n
That’s a pretty solid stable to fill out the defensive backfield with safeties Dawan Landry and Dwight Lowery.\n
\n
Despite managing to re-sign end Jeremy Mincey, end and receiver remain the primary needs.\n
\n
The defense is an end away from being loaded, having now added a quality six pack of veterans in the past two seasons: linebackers Paul Posluszny and Clint Session, safeties Landry and Lowery and corners Ross and Coleman.","title" :"Jaguars an end away from stacked on D","byline" :"Paul Kuharsky","linkText" :"Jaguars an end away from stacked on D","description" :"The sort of bold move the Jaguars were due to make thanks to plenty of salary-cap room and a new owner who’s talked about being all-in has arrived.","published" :"2012-03-20T11:20:04Z","tags" :[{"name" :"Jacksonville Jaguars","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/afcsouth/category?name=jacksonville-jaguars"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=afcsouth&category=jacksonville-jaguars"}},"slug" :"jacksonville-jaguars","type" :"category"},{"name" :"Jeremy Mincey","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/afcsouth/tag?name=jeremy-mincey"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=afcsouth&tag=jeremy-mincey"}},"slug" :"jeremy-mincey","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Clint Session","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/afcsouth/tag?name=clint-session"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=afcsouth&tag=clint-session"}},"slug" :"clint-session","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Derek Cox","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/afcsouth/tag?name=derek-cox"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=afcsouth&tag=derek-cox"}},"slug" :"derek-cox","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Rashean Mathis","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/afcsouth/tag?name=rashean-mathis"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=afcsouth&tag=rashean-mathis"}},"slug" :"rashean-mathis","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Chad Henne","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/afcsouth/tag?name=chad-henne"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=afcsouth&tag=chad-henne"}},"slug" :"chad-henne","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Paul Posluszny","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/afcsouth/tag?name=paul-posluszny"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=afcsouth&tag=paul-posluszny"}},"slug" :"paul-posluszny","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Dawan Landry","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/afcsouth/tag?name=dawan-landry"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=afcsouth&tag=dawan-landry"}},"slug" :"dawan-landry","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Drew Coleman","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/afcsouth/tag?name=drew-coleman"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=afcsouth&tag=drew-coleman"}},"slug" :"drew-coleman","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Aaron Ross","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/afcsouth/tag?name=aaron-ross"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=afcsouth&tag=aaron-ross"}},"slug" :"aaron-ross","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Dwight Lowery","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/afcsouth/tag?name=dwight-lowery"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=afcsouth&tag=dwight-lowery"}},"slug" :"dwight-lowery","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Laurent Robinson","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/afcsouth/tag?name=laurent-robinson"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=afcsouth&tag=laurent-robinson"}},"slug" :"laurent-robinson","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"2012 NFL Free Agency","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/afcsouth/tag?name=2012-nfl-free-agency"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=afcsouth&tag=2012-nfl-free-agency"}},"slug" :"2012-nfl-free-agency","type" :"tag"}],"keywords" :["Jacksonville Jaguars","Jeremy Mincey","Clint Session","Derek Cox","Rashean Mathis","Chad Henne","Paul Posluszny","Dawan Landry","Drew Coleman","Aaron Ross","Dwight Lowery","Laurent Robinson","2012 NFL Free Agency"],"lastModified" :"2012-03-20T11:34:59Z","premium" :false,"links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/afcsouth/post/_/id/35373/jaguars-an-end-away-from-stacked-on-d"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpost?blogname=afcsouth&id=35373"}},"section" :"AFC South","source" :"ESPN.com","images" :[],"blogname" :"afcsouth","sportRoot" :"nfl"}],"sportRoot" :"nfl"} http://espn.go.com/blog/afcsouth/post/_/id/35373/jaguars-an-end-away-from-stacked-on-d Jaguars an end away from stacked on D false false false false-->

Send this page to a friend

Jaguars an end away from stacked on D

Separate multiple addresses with commas

Register for an account. Forgot your account info?