I'm not surprised about Rodriguez; even though I chose one of his \"pre-steroid\" seasons, he's not exactly a fan favorite. Griffey has no PED stain on his reputation, a huge advantage in a popular vote like this. I was surprised Ripken lost so easily to Foxx, despite Foxx's awesome power numbers in 1932 (58 home runs, 169 RBIs). Ripken remains one of the most beloved players ever, and while his raw numbers in 1991 might not immediately impress (.323, 34 home runs, 114 RBIs), those were tremendous numbers for that season and especially tremendous for a shortstop in the pre-Rodriguez/Jeter/Garciaparra era.\n
\n
But here's what stands out to me: Baseball fans still show great respect for the old guys. Foxx beat Ripken. Aaron over Yount. Stan Musial over George Brett. Joe DiMaggio edged out Albert Pujols in the closest first-round vote, 52 to 48 percent. Ty Cobb easily outvoted Rickey Henderson. In fact, in every matchup in which there was a sizable generation gap, the older guy won. Now, some of these weren't necessarily surprises -- it's not surprising that Mickey Mantle would beat Mike Piazza, for example -- but could you imagine this happening in other sports? No football fan thinks Bronko Nagurski was better than Walter Payton or Emmitt Smith. Sammy Baugh wouldn't outpoll Peyton Manning. George Mikan wouldn't beat out Shaquille O'Neal. Bob Cousy doesn't beat out Magic Johnson or even a more modern guy such as Dwyane Wade.\n
\n
But in baseball, we cling to the past. Yes, the sport has been around longer, so the framework of the game hasn't changed dramatically like it has in football or basketball. I always wonder why people will argue that football and basketball athletes have improved, but not baseball players. Of course, baseball players in 2012 are bigger, stronger and more athletic than the players Babe Ruth faced in 1921. Pitchers throw harder. Outfielders cover more ground. Infielders have stronger arms. That's the way sports evolve.\n
\n
* * * *\n
\n
OK, a quick look at Round 2 in which the matchups get a lot tougher to decide:\n\n\n
","title" :"Baseball fans still revere olden days","byline" :"David Schoenfield","linkText" :"Baseball fans still revere olden days","description" :"We've moved on to the second round of the Greatest MLB Season Ever bracket. All top-10 seeds advanced, but there were three upsets; interestingly, all involved shortstops.","published" :"2012-03-06T17:52:39Z","tags" :[{"name" :"David Schoenfield","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/sweetspot/category?name=david-schoenfield"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=sweetspot&category=david-schoenfield"}},"slug" :"david-schoenfield","type" :"category"},{"name" :"Greatest season","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/sweetspot/category?name=greatest-season"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=sweetspot&category=greatest-season"}},"slug" :"greatest-season","type" :"category"},{"name" :"Joe DiMaggio","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/sweetspot/tag?name=joe-dimaggio"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=sweetspot&tag=joe-dimaggio"}},"slug" :"joe-dimaggio","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Willie Mays","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/sweetspot/tag?name=willie-mays"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=sweetspot&tag=willie-mays"}},"slug" :"willie-mays","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Mickey Mantle","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/sweetspot/tag?name=mickey-mantle"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=sweetspot&tag=mickey-mantle"}},"slug" :"mickey-mantle","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Barry Bonds","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/sweetspot/tag?name=barry-bonds"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=sweetspot&tag=barry-bonds"}},"slug" :"barry-bonds","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Ken Griffey Jr.","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/sweetspot/tag?name=ken-griffey-jr"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=sweetspot&tag=ken-griffey-jr"}},"slug" :"ken-griffey-jr","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Hank Aaron","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/sweetspot/tag?name=hank-aaron"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=sweetspot&tag=hank-aaron"}},"slug" :"hank-aaron","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Lou Gehrig","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/sweetspot/tag?name=lou-gehrig"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=sweetspot&tag=lou-gehrig"}},"slug" :"lou-gehrig","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Honus Wagner","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/sweetspot/tag?name=honus-wagner"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=sweetspot&tag=honus-wagner"}},"slug" :"honus-wagner","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Ty Cobb","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/sweetspot/tag?name=ty-cobb"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=sweetspot&tag=ty-cobb"}},"slug" :"ty-cobb","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Ted Williams","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/sweetspot/tag?name=ted-williams"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=sweetspot&tag=ted-williams"}},"slug" :"ted-williams","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Rogers Hornsby","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/sweetspot/tag?name=rogers-hornsby"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=sweetspot&tag=rogers-hornsby"}},"slug" :"rogers-hornsby","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Babe Ruth","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/sweetspot/tag?name=babe-ruth"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=sweetspot&tag=babe-ruth"}},"slug" :"babe-ruth","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Jimmie Foxx","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/sweetspot/tag?name=jimmie-foxx"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=sweetspot&tag=jimmie-foxx"}},"slug" :"jimmie-foxx","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Joe Morgan","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/sweetspot/tag?name=joe-morgan"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=sweetspot&tag=joe-morgan"}},"slug" :"joe-morgan","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Carl Yastrzemski","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/sweetspot/tag?name=carl-yastrzemski"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=sweetspot&tag=carl-yastrzemski"}},"slug" :"carl-yastrzemski","type" :"tag"},{"name" :"Stan Musial","links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/sweetspot/tag?name=stan-musial"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpostindex?blogname=sweetspot&tag=stan-musial"}},"slug" :"stan-musial","type" :"tag"}],"keywords" :["David Schoenfield","Greatest season","Joe DiMaggio","Willie Mays","Mickey Mantle","Barry Bonds","Ken Griffey Jr.","Hank Aaron","Lou Gehrig","Honus Wagner","Ty Cobb","Ted Williams","Rogers Hornsby","Babe Ruth","Jimmie Foxx","Joe Morgan","Carl Yastrzemski","Stan Musial"],"lastModified" :"2012-03-06T20:08:48Z","premium" :false,"links" :{"web" :{"href" :"http://espn.go.com/blog/sweetspot/post/_/id/21402/baseball-fans-still-revere-olden-days"},"mobile" :{"href" :"http://m.espn.go.com/general/blogs/blogpost?blogname=sweetspot&id=21402"}},"section" :"SweetSpot","source" :"ESPN.com","images" :[{"height" :300,"alt" :"Henry Aaron","width" :300,"name" :"Aaron_Henry 120306 [300x300]","caption" :"The Milwaukee Braves' Hank Aaron was named the NL's MVP in 1957.","type" :"inline","credit" :"AP File Photo","url" :"http://a.espncdn.com/photo/2012/0306/mlb_a_aronh_ps_300.jpg"}],"blogname" :"sweetspot","sportRoot" :"mlb"}],"sportRoot" :"mlb"} http://espn.go.com/blog/sweetspot/post/_/id/21402/baseball-fans-still-revere-olden-days Baseball fans still revere olden days false false false false-->

Send this page to a friend

Baseball fans still revere olden days

Separate multiple addresses with commas

Register for an account. Forgot your account info?